Bike: Quartararo extends championship lead


Fabio Quartararo won the Catalunya Grand Prix in MotoGP. The Frenchman won with his Yamaha on Sunday at the Barcelona-Catalunya circuit by more than six seconds over Jorge Martin (Spain) and Johan Zarco (France/Ducati).

For Quartaro, who recently extended his contract until 2024, it was the second win of the season after Portimao. “I had a good feeling right from the start. I really wanted to be first in the first corner,” Quartaro said. “It was an incredible race. I’ve made great progress and I’m really happy. In the overall standings, the defending champion has consolidated his lead over Alex Espargaro.

The Catalan caused the race scene with a false blunder: laying in second, the Aprilia rider abruptly slowed before starting the last lap and put his hand up in the air. Perhaps thinking the race was already over and he got the podium. Then, the 32-year-old, who finished fifth in the finish, snuck into a corner in his box and cried.

APA Genes / AFP / Lluis

Quartararo led a single race at the front

Quartararo had taken the lead from Espargaro, the number one player shortly after the start, while three contenders – Takaaki Nakagami, Francesco Bagna and Alex Rains – fell for the first corner. After that, the “Diablo” dominated the race with ease. World Cup bronze medalist Inna Bastianini was also eliminated. KTM riders Brad Bender (RSA) and Miguel Oliveira (POR) finished eighth and ninth.

Catalan Grand Prix in Barcelona

MotoGP (24 laps = 111.768 km):
1. Fabio Quartararo FR Yamaha 40: 29360
2. Jorge Martin ESP ducati + 6473
3. Johann Zarko FR ducati 8385
4. Joan Mir ESP suzuki 11481
5. Alex Espargaro ESP Aprilia 14395
6. Luca Marine He. She ducati 15,430
7. Maverick Vinales ESP Aprilia 15975
VIII. Brad Binder RSA KTM 21,436
9. Miguel Oliveira POR KTM 26800
10 Alex Marquez ESP Honda 30,460
Moto2 (22 laps = 102.454 km):
1. Celestino Fetti He. She calyx 38: 42958
2. Aaron Kanye ESP calyx + 0.081
3. Augusto Fernandez ESP calyx 0.522
4. Jake Dixon GBR calyx 0.646
5. Marcel Schrötter M calyx 1470
6. Pedro Acosta ESP calyx 6298
7. I Ogura JPN calyx 6320
VIII. Alonso Lopez ESP calyx 7,229
9. Manuel Gonzalez ESP calyx 10746
10 Tony Arbolino He. She calyx 12,056
Moto3 (21 laps = 97.797 km)
1. Izan Guevara ESP Gas 38: 22351
2. David Munoz ESP KTM + 1.975
3. Tatsuki Suzuki JPN Honda 1.985
4. Serge Garcia ESP Gas 2,036
5. Denise Onko Door KTM 2752
6. Carlos Tatay ESP CF Moto 3,134
7. John McVeigh GBR Husqvarna 3341
VIII. Jaume Macia ESP KTM 3,633
9. Adrian Fernandez ESP KTM 5285
10 Xavier Artigas ESP CF Moto 5,555

more This is in the MotoGP World Championships

Leave a Comment