TV occasions, individuals, historical past and co.

( – In the 2022 IndyCar season (View – stream all races live with Sky Ticket!) After the Indy 500, things will continue one by one. Because only a week into the season’s climax, the street race will take place in Detroit next weekend. It’s the third city race of the season.

30 years ago, Belle Isle was first driven, and now for the last time


The circuit, located scenicly on Belle Isle on the Detroit River, was first used in the 1992 CART season. Ten years later, he temporarily disappeared from the calendar. In 2007, she led the Indy Racing League (IRL) once on Peel Island. Detroit was also on the calendar in 2008, the year of reunification in single-seat racing in the United States. Then there was another break for several years.

Detroit returned to the IndyCar calendar in 2012 and has been a part of it ever since (except for cancellation in Corona 2020). However, this weekend, Belle Isle will be driven for the last time. Because in 2023 there will be a return to downtown Detroit. Formula 1 was a guest there from 1982 to 1988 and then the CART series on the same circuit from 1989 to 1991. A different track layout than in the ’80s and ’90s is planned for a comeback in 2023.

But let’s go back to the present. Indy 500 winner Marcus Ericsson will lead the 2022 IndyCar standings ahead of this weekend’s Detroit Grand Prix. The double points awarded in the Indy 500 play a big role in the fact that the Swede took first place. There won’t be another double-point race weekend in 2022 — and there won’t be another in Detroit, because for the first time since 2012 it’s no longer a double-header, but a singles race.

Here is an overview of all the important information about IndyCar 2022 in Detroit:

Data about the racetrack on Beel Island

Site: Detroit (Michigan, USA)
road type: street circuit
number of curves: 14
track length: 2.35 miles (3.781 kilometers)
On the IndyCar calendar since: 1992 (with interruption)
IndyCar Record: Takuma Sato in 1:13,673 (114,832 mph) in the 2017 season

Logo: Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix

This time only one instead of two races in Detroit – Chevrolet remains the main sponsor Zoom

Schedule IndyCar 2022 Detroit (local time; Central European teams: 6 hours)

Friday 3 June
3:30 p.m.: First free training session (60 minutes)

Saturday 4th June
08:30: Second free practice (60 minutes)
12:35 pm: Qualification (three slides)

Sunday 5 June
10:15 a.m.: Warm-up (30 minutes)
3:00 p.m.: Race – Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix (70 laps; start: 3:30 p.m.)

TV Times and Live Stream IndyCar 2022 Detroit (at CEST)

Friday 3 June
21:30 CET: First free practice on

Saturday 4th June
14:30 CET: Second free training on
18:35 CEST: Qualifiers on

Sunday 5 June
16:15 CEST: Warm-up on
21:00 CET: Race on Sky Sport F1 (Race kick-off: 21:30 CEST)

In the DACH region (Germany, Austria and Switzerland), Sky Pay TV will broadcast all races of the 2022 IndyCar season live and in full.

Sky offers two ways to watch IndyCar live. First, about the classic Sky Q subscription, with a satellite, cable or internet receiver. On the other hand in the frame Sky ticketswhich can be flexibly booked as a pure streaming service without a receiver.

In the USA, the races of the 2022 IndyCar season will be broadcast live and in full on NBC TV. It is broadcast either live on the main channel or on special interest USA Network.

Gallery: IndyCar 2022 cars

As an alternative to or in addition to NBC’s TV broadcasts in the USA, all sessions (practices, qualifying sessions, races) of the 2022 IndyCar season will be broadcast live on Peacock, NBC’s paid broadcast portal.

Outside the United States, free workouts and qualifications will be streamed live on the official IndyCar website. Live timing of all sessions (practices, qualifying, races) for the 2022 IndyCar season is also available for free on the official IndyCar website.

IndyCar 2022 entry list Detroit (26 cars)

As 33 IndyCars rolled into the Indianapolis Oval to highlight the season, street racing in Detroit will see a return to the normal grid size of 26 cars this season. A surprise was delivered later on Wednesday.

Santino Ferrucci Juncos leads Chevrolet (starting number 77) in place of Callum Ilott. As it just became known, average driver Ilott sustained a minor hand injury in the Indy 500 crash last Sunday. It is not yet clear if he will miss any longer outside of Detroit.

Other than that, Detroit’s entry list matches the first two street races of the year (St. Petersburg and Long Beach). this means: Tatiana Calderon Driving a #11 Chevrolet Voight. And unlike the Indianapolis circuit (mid-May), the third McLaren Chevrolet doesn’t exist anymore.

#2 – Penske Chevrolet – Joseph Newgarden (USA) – 2 wins this season
#3 – Penske Chevrolet – Scott McLaughlin (New Zealand) – 1 win this season
# 4 – Voigt Chevrolet – Dalton Kellett (Canada)
#5 – McLaren-Chevrolet – Patricio Oward (Mexico) – 1 win this season
#06 – Honda Shank – Helio Castroneves (Brazil)
#7 – McLaren Chevrolet – Felix Rosenqvist (Sweden)
#8 – Janassi Honda – Markus Ericsson (Sweden) – 1 win this season
#9 – Janassi – Honda – Scott Dixon (New Zealand)
#10 – Janassi Honda – Alex Ballo (Spain)
#11 – Chevrolet Voight – Tatiana Calderon (Colombia) *
#12 – Penske Chevrolet – Well Power (Australia)
#14 – Voigt Chevrolet – Kyle Kirkwood (USA) *
#15 – Rahal Honda – Graham Rahal (US)
#18 – Queen Honda – David Mallukas (USA) *
#20 Chevrolet Carpenter – Conor Daly (USA)
#21 Chevrolet Carpenter – Rinus Vikai (Netherlands)
#26 – Andretti Honda – Colton Herta (USA) – 1 win this season
#27 – Andretti Honda – Alexander Rossi (USA)
#28 – Andretti Honda – Romain Grosjean (France)
#29 – Andretti Honda – Devlin Di Francesco (Canada) *
#30 – Rahal Honda – Christian Lundgaard (Denmark) *
#45 Rahal Honda – Jack Harvey (Great Britain)
#48 – Janassi Honda – Jimmy Johnson (USA)
#51 – Coin Honda – Takuma Sato (Japan)
#60 Honda Shank – Simone Pagenaud (France)
#77 – Juncos Chevrolet – Santino Ferrucci (USA)

* Not Veteran

IndyCar 2021: Detroit 1

HIGHLIGHTS FROM Race 7 of 17 for the 2021 IndyCar Series, Race 1 at the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix at Belle Isle in Detroit! More Formula Racing Videos

Date: All Detroit IndyCar Race winners (Bell Island only)

2021: Marcus Ericsson / Patricio Award
2019: Joseph Newgarden / Scott Dixon
2018: Scott Dixon / Ryan Hunter Ray
2017: Graham Rahal / Graham Rahal
2016: Sebastien Pordes / Will Power
2015: Carlos Munoz / Sebastian Bordes
2014: Will Power / Helio Castroneves
2013: Mike Conway / Simon Pagenaud
2012: Scott Dixon

2008: Justin Wilson
2007 (IRL): Tony Kanaan

2001 (kart): Helio Castroneves
2000 (kart): Helio Castroneves
1999 (kart): Dario Franchetti
1998 (kart): Alex Zanardi
1997 (kart): Greg Moore
1996 (kart): Michael Andretti
1995 (kart): Robbie Gordon
1994 (kart): Paul Tracy
1993 (kart): Danny Sullivan
1992 (kart): Bobby Rahal

Leave a Comment